Mary Carole Heckaman Bronze

July 1st, 2008 7:46 PM | No Comments

Heckaman BronzeThe Mary Carole Heckaman bronze was created for her son, Riley, and to keep the memory of a highly respected and loved horsewoman alive. Mary Carole Heckaman left us in April 1997 from injuries sustained in a tragic automobile accident.

The bronze, created by Marrita McMillian, was first presented at The All American Quarter Horse Congress 3 Year Old Non Pro Western Pleasure in 1997-2002. Retired by the OQHA, it was moved to the NSBA Breeders Futurity 2003-2007. We are pleased to now bring it to the Reichert Celebration in honor of Mary Carole’s memory, on behalf of her family (husband Steve, son Riley (12), mother Mary Green and brother Rusty Green and her many friends who loved her.

Mary Carole won the 3 year old non-pro western pleasure futurity at the Congress in 1994 on Assets. She also won the 1993 Amateur Western Pleasure at the AQHA World Show on She Be Sassy.

Congress Bronze Winners:
1997 Shirley Roth-Ima Due Gooder Too
1998 Josh Robertson-Docs Rite Pix
1999 Millie Dickerson- Mr Sugar Deluxe
2000 Roby Roberts- A Good Poo
2001 Elizabeth Leeman- Willy Be Invited
2002 Jay Starnes- RL Just One

NSBA Breeders Futurity Bronze Winners:
2003 Lindsey Sommer- Zip Back N Yack
2004 Tim Gillespie- Zipped From The Heart
2005 Ron Shelly- Come Get Ya Some
2006 Fonda Nott-Powell- Forafewdollarsmore
2007 Liz Hay- Classic Blazer

The 2008 Mary Carole Heckaman Bronze will be presented to the winner of the Reichert Celebration Non-Pro 3 Year Old Western Pleasure Futurity, held Sunday, August 17.

Leave a Reply