2012 AQHA Convention is a Wrap

March 20th, 2012 5:48 PM | No Comments

Press Release

The 2012 AQHA Convention at the South Point Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas is a wrap.

The American Quarter Horse Journal, March 20, 2012 – AQHA is an organization that works for its members. Each spring, AQHA holds an annual convention to review member-submitted rule changes, appoint new AQHA directors, induct new members to the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame and present year-end awards. The 2012 AQHA Convention was March 9-12 at the South Point Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

The new AQHA Executive Committee was elected on Monday, March 12. This five-person committee is responsible for implementing important decisions made by AQHA members through the board of directors.

AQHA’s new Executive Committee includes President Gene Graves of Grand Island, Nebraska; First Vice President Johne Dobbs of Champaign, Illinois; Second Vice President Johnny Trotter of Hereford, Texas; Member George Phillips of Sumrall, Mississippi; and Member Dr. Glenn Blodgett of Guthrie, Texas.

Hall of Fame Inductees

The 2012 American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame induction ceremony took place Sunday, March 11.

This year, AQHA inducted six legends into the Hall of Fame: Bob Loomis, Gordon Hannagan and Walter Fletcher, and horses Hollywood Dun It, Indigo Illusion and Streakin La Jolla. They join the 226 inductees of the past 30 years.

In addition to the Hall of Fame inductions, AQHA Director-At-Large Homer Stude of Wright City, Missouri, was presented the Merle Wood Humanitarian Award at the Hall of Fame Banquet.

Professionals of the Year

The 2011 Don Burt Professional Horseman of the Year, the Professional’s Choice Professional Horsewoman of the Year and Most Valuable Professional awards were presented Saturday, March 10. The awards were presented by AQHA Corporate Partner Professional’s Choice.

Gene Parker of Orrum, North Carolina, was named the 2011 Don Burt Professional’s Choice Horseman of the Year. The 2011 Professional’s Choice Professional Horsewoman of the Year is Marilyn Randall of Bridger, Montana. Larry Little of Mebane, North Carolina, received the title of Professional’s Choice Most Valuable Professional or “MVP” of 2011.

2011 AQHA All-Around Award Winners

The all-around awards were presented at the awards banquet on Saturday, March 10. The highest honors for the year were:

Bank of America All-Around Junior Horse – Streakin Boon Dox and Joe and Carla Spitz of Lamar, Colorado

Bank of America All-Around Senior Horse – Vital Signs Are Good and Joe and Karen Moran of Laguna Hills, California

Bank of America All-Around Amateur – Hours Yours And Mine and Kaleena Weakly of Shelbyville, Illinois

Markel All-Around Youth – Certify This Chex and Brianna Tamulewicz of Westerville, Ohio

Bank of America World Champion Racing American Quarter Horse – Cold Cash 123 and T-Bill Stables Inc. of Claire, Michigan

Be sure to visit www.aqha.com/convention for future convention dates.

AQHA news and information is a service of AQHA publications. For more information on The American Quarter Horse Journal or America’s Horse, visit AQHA Publications.

Founded in 1940, the American Quarter Horse Association is the largest equine breed organization in the world.  With headquarters in Amarillo, Texas, AQHA has a membership of more than 280,000 people in 86 countries and has registered more than 5 million horses in 95 countries.

Leave a Reply