Big Things Happening in the 2013 Reichert Celebration Show Pen!

September 3rd, 2013 12:26 PM | No Comments

Three Year Old Non Pro Pleasure Series winner, Only With Honor. Photo courtesy of Shane Rux Photography

Labor Day brought more great fun and prizes to the 2013 Reichert Celebration at the Will Rogers Memorial Center in Fort Worth, TX. The Youth Team Tournament was a major event of the day, designed by the Reichert Family. Ron Reichert had a great love of youth who were involved in horses, and the entire Reichert family has carried on this love and support. They want to help horse-loving youth further themselves in their education, and so give out scholarships at the Youth Team Tournament (YTT). The YTT is additionally sponsored by Cinch, Cruel Girl, and the Equine Chronicle.

The YTT is very interesting, in that youth don’t necessarily know their teammates. Assigned to teams, the youth from all breed organizations are given 10 minutes to come up with a team name. From there, they compete in different events such as halter, showmanship, HUS, WP, Trail, and more, all without wearing show clothes (at most, a cowboy hat and chaps). Their placings determine how many points a team member is given, and those points add up to determine who wins.

Seven teams competed this year from all over the country. The first place team won $1000 scholarships for the team members, 2nd place won $500 scholarships. With an enormous lead, team “Good Ride” came in first place with an outstanding 413 points. Rachel Pozzi (DZ Blonde, Alias Deligh and Tailgate Party), Taylor Broyles (Choc Full Of Kisses), Chamberlyn Kilcrease (KF Dare To Luke), Colton Cruse (Mistys Leading Man), and Connolly Moore (TKO Coolest) all did an outstanding job in the competition.

“The Five Gun Gang” came in second place with 272 points. The team consisted of Bailey Anderson (Kruisin Krymsun), Zoe DePlacido (Elegant Example), Mallory Moore (Im Surely Invited) and Kindra McGraw (Janes Dasher).

Also going on yesterday were some special classes in the John Justin Arena and Trail Town. The first Signature classes of the show were going on in the trail pen, with the Signature Non Pro Trail Class won by Zip Along Home and Fon Laughlin with $364.50 in winnings and the Signature Three and Four Year Old Trail Class, won by RR Certain Bout This piloted by John Briggs, winning $504.90.

Anyone Can Win WP winner OHK Got The Goodbar. Photo courtesy of Shane Rux Photography

An interesting concept for this year, the “Anybody Can Win Western Pleasure” class in the John Justin Arena. Ten horses tried their best in the pen, with anything from a bosal to a shank, plain shirts to the biggest bling, and youth to adult competing. Winning first under two judges, first place, and $360.74 went to OHK Got The Goodbar, ridden by Randy Hostetter.

And to finish the show on Monday, the first in the new eight Pleasure Series Classes entered the show pen. Designed by JR Reichert, there are certain limitations placed on the exhibitors who are allowed to enter, such as not winning a Congress or World Championship. For the full list of rules, click here. The first class of the eight (four Non Pro, four Open) was the Three Year Old Non Pro Western Pleasure. JR added an additional $500 to the winnings for this class, bringing the total to $1,000 in winnings. He also threw in a special Reichert Celebration trophy saddle to the winner. First place took home $545.70, with Jane McCurley Backes riding Only With Honor. Second place went to Nicole Whitley Eby, riding Lopen For A Good Bar and took home $433.35.

Open Senior WP Pleasure Series winner I Like Hot Chips. Photo courtesy of Shane Rux Photography

SevenĀ  horses entered the pen next to compete in the Open Senior Western Pleasure class in the Reichert Pleasure Series. Winning first under three judges and overall first place, taking home $354.00, I Like Hot Chips ridden by Marc Pile became the first to win the second Pleasure Series class. Second place went to Jeff Honey riding Hot And Dreamy, winning $265.50. Six more Pleasure Series classes to go! More checks to be won, more great trainers, and more fantastic horses to enter the show pen.

Keep checking back for the latest in Reichert Celebration show news, and be sure to check out our 2013 Reichert Celebration show page for more news, results, photos and more.

Leave a Reply