Fallen Horsemen Memorial Show Triples Entries with 2012 Show

September 14th, 2012 11:11 AM | No Comments

Second Annual Event Honored 12 Late Horsemen and Women

Brookville, Ohio– The second annual Fallen Horsemen Memorial Horse Show saw triple the entries it received during the inaugural show last year, while honoring 12 more late horsemen and women. The show was held Labor Day weekend at Circle G Arena, Lewisburg (Brookville, Ohio area).

The show’s founder, Tammy Denlinger-Lickliter, was pleased with the show’s success. “Everything just came together, and we already have people who are working on sponsorships for next year,” she said. “We ended up with $4000 in added money for exhibitors, and we had more than 1,000 entries total over the weekend.”

Lickliter created the all-breed, open horse show to honor Ohio and the surrounding area’s most influential horsemen and women. A special ceremony featuring a rider-less horse was presented each day. Lickliter teamed with the Miami Valley Horse Show Association to honor fallen horsemen and women who have made an impact on the horse industry.

One unique feature of the show was a Team Challenge, Teams could consist of one to three adults or youths who were eligible to show in specific classes for points and prizes. The Youth High Point Team was Secret Ninjas, comprised of Jillian Channell, Victoria Jenkins and Kaitlyn Harrison. The High Point Youth was Kaitlyn Harrison and her horse, Ima Last Jet. The Adult High Point Team was Motor Boatin, which included Emily Lloyd, Jenifer Taufmann and Tyler Williamson. The High Point Adult was Jenifer Taufmann, showing Allans Bay Star.

The horsemen and women honored at the 2012 show included:

  • Ralph Alexander
  • Roger Beam
  • George Berry
  • Lawrence Bishop
  • Dave Hoffman Sr.
  • Ken Johnson Jr.
  • Tammy Kennedy
  • Olen Osborne
  • Jeanine Lutz
  • Billy Ray and David Sorrell
  • Janice Van Pelt

The new honorees will join the show’s founding fallen horsemen and women, who were:

  • Calvin Burkhart
  • Gloria Croley
  • Larry K Davis DVM
  • Harry and Mary Denlinger (Sr.)
  • Bob Evans
  • Mr. and Mrs. Robert Farendorf
  • Blair Folck
  • Larry and Mary Grilliot
  • Marion Grimes
  • Denny Hales
  • Joan Lutz
  • John Pape
  • Roland St. John
  • Junior Shelpman
  • Tubby Weiler
  • Paul Wilt
  • Clayton Woosley

“Anyone can honor a fallen horseman or woman who enabled life with horses through the Fallen Horseman show. It is our way of giving back to these wonderful people,” Lickliter said.

To nominate a horseman or woman for the 2013 show, sponsor a class or for additional information, please contact Tammy Denlinger-Lickliter at 937-672-5629, visit the Fallen Horsemen Memorial Show page on Facebook or the Miami Valley Horse Show Association at www.mvhsa.com.

Leave a Reply