AQHA Convention Update

March 13th, 2013 11:45 AM | No Comments

press release

The American Quarter Horse Association, March 12, 2013 – AQHA is an organization that works for its members. Each spring, AQHA holds an annual convention to review member-submitted rule changes, appoint new AQHA directors, induct new members to the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame and present year-end awards. The 2013 AQHA Convention was March 8-11 at the Hyatt Regency Houston in Houston.

AQHA Executive Committee

The new AQHA Executive Committee was elected on Monday, March 11. This five-person committee is responsible for implementing important decisions made by AQHA members through the board of directors.

AQHA’s new Executive Committee includes President Johne Dobbs of Champaign, Illinois; First Vice President Johnny Trotter of Hereford, Texas; Second Vice President George Phillips of Sumrall, Mississippi; Member Dr. Glenn Blodgett of Guthrie, Texas; and Member Sandy Arledge of Encinitas, California.

Hall of Fame Inductees

The 2013 American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame induction ceremony was Sunday, March 10.

This year, AQHA inducted 10 legends into the Hall of Fame: Bill Brewer, Kenny Hart, Frank Merrill, Guy Ray Rutland, Greg Whalen, Fillinic, Freckles Playboy, Lady Bug’s Moon, Miss Olene and Poco Tivio. They join the 233 inductees of the past 31 years.

In addition to the Hall of Fame inductions, AQHA Professional Horseman Judy Bonham of Norco, California, was presented the 2012 Merle Wood Humanitarian Award at the Hall of Fame Banquet.

Professionals of the Year

The 2012 Don Burt Professional’s Choice Professional Horseman of the Year, the Professional’s Choice Professional Horsewoman of the Year and Professional’s Choice Most Valuable Professional awards were presented at the awards banquet on Saturday, March 9. The awards were presented by AQHA Corporate Partner Professional’s Choice.

Charlie Cole of Pilot Point, Texas, was named the 2012 Don Burt Professional’s Choice Professional Horseman of the Year. The 2012 Professional’s Choice Professional Horsewoman of the Year is Deanna Searles of Scottsdale, Arizona. Wayne Halvorson of Guthrie, Oklahoma, received the 2012 Professional’s Choice Most Valuable Professional.

Lifetime Achievement Awards

The 2012 Lifetime Achievement Awards were also presented on Saturday, March 9 by Professional’s Choice.

This year, AQHA awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards to AQHA Professional Horseman Orin Barnes of Canyon, Texas; AQHA Professional Horseman Clark Parker of Paradise, Utah; and AQHA 20-year breeder John Hoyt of Whitesboro, Texas.

2012 AQHA Year-End Winners

More than 110 high-point titles were awarded at the awards banquet on Saturday evening. The highest honors for the year were:

Bank of America All-Around Junior Horse – Darling Catichi and Linnea Zueck of Golden, Colorado

Bank of America All-Around Senior Horse – Hard To Get Playboy and Corey and Marquette Powell of Abilene, Kansas

Bank of America All-Around Amateur – Hours Yours And Mine and Kaleena Weakly of Shelbyville, Illinois

Markel Insurance All-Around Youth – Good Time To Win and Erika Rodenski of Hickory, Pennsylvania

Bank of America World Champion Racing American Quarter Horse – One Dashing Eagle and Jose and Gustavo De La Torre and San Gregorio Racing Stables Inc. of Mira Loma, California

Stay tuned to for further information on rule changes and be sure to visit for future convention dates.

AQHA news and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more information, follow @AQHAnews on Twitter, watch the AQHA Newscast and visit


Founded in 1940, the American Quarter Horse Association is the largest equine breed organization in the world.  With headquarters in Amarillo, Texas, AQHA has a membership of more than 280,000 people in 86 countries and has registered more than 5 million horses in 95 countries.

Leave a Reply