APHA members honored with memorial classes at the World Wide Paint Horse Congress

August 15th, 2014 12:00 PM | No Comments

Press Release

painthorsecongresslogoAmidst the tough competition of the World Wide Paint Horse Congress, the APHA family came together to remember two former members who left their mark on the industry.

The Lynn Simons Memorial Halter Futurity and the Beth Beuchler Limited Series honored their respective namesakes while paying out big prizes to excited exhibitors.

Lynn Simons Memorial Halter Futurity

Taking place August 2, the Lynn Simons Memorial Halter Futurity was a WCHA-sanctioned event with big payouts and high emotions.

“My father always wanted to help the Paint Horse industry and, more specifically, the halter industry,” Jana Simons said. “I think he affected more people in the industry than I even knew! We had so many people coming up to tell us what an honor it was for them to win.”

The futurity featured non-pro yearling classes for mares, stallions and geldings, as well as a Champions of Champions Open Yearlings event, which invited the event’s first- and second-place futurity winners and the overall winners from the Congress’ Open yearling sex classes. Both Regular Registry and Solid Paint-Bred horses were invited to compete.

“My dad was very passionate about supporting owners and non-pro exhibitors because they’re the ones that are truly supporting the horse industry,” Jana said. “Jennifer Sheriff helped me with the futurity—her father and my father were really close—and as a halter exhibitor herself, she felt the non-pro classes would have some great participation.”

Thanks to the staunch support of current and interested sponsors, as well as the enthusiasm of proud exhibitors, Jana says her family is already looking toward next year’s event.

“This first year was a big success, and I think the futurity will do exactly what we intended—support the halter industry for my father,” Jana said. “We received a lot of interest and support, and people were already talking about next year!

“It goes without saying that nothing is possible without amazing sponsors; we’re truly grateful for everyone’s involvement and support.”

Lynn Simons Memorial Halter Futurity Non-Pro winners:

Non-Pro Yearling Gelding—Ill Be Awesome, exhibited by Kimberly Borcherding and owned by Leon and Terry Borcherding

Non-Pro Yearling Filly—Marabella, exhibited by Marty Ware and owned by M.Ware Show Horses

Non-Pro Yearling Stallion—Cool Addiction, exhibited and owned by Robin Robinette

Beth Buechler Limited Series

Image courtesy of APHA and Bar H Photography.

Image courtesy of APHA and Bar H Photography.

An avid exhibitor and friend to many, Beth Buechler’s final Paint Horse show was the 2013 World Wide Paint Horse Congress. It was fitting, then, that her memorial limited series debuted at the 2014 event, Congress Coordinator Clea Bobbitt says.

“Beth was an avid Paint Horse breeder and exhibitor, and she was always a champion for encouraging the success of limited horses and riders,” Clea said. “She was truly a part of the APHA family.”

The series included six limited-rider/limited-horse classes open to Open, Amateur and Youth riding Regular Registry of Solid Paint-Bred horses. Events included trail, hunter under saddle and Western pleasure.

Beth’s former trainer and family friend Wade Spell says the limited series is an idea of Beth’s own design.

“Beth always felt there should be some kind of event for people that weren’t quite as accomplished at showing; she wished there was something to showcase those horses and riders,” Wade said. “So we really got the idea for the event from Beth herself.”

The limited eligibility requirements for horses and riders were designed to encourage riders who might not typically show at the World Wide Paint Horse Congress to participate in the series. For the event’s debut year, Clea says the classes exceeded their goals and expectations.

“The limited series did its job well,” she said. “We had many people come out for ‘The Beth’ who said they wouldn’t have otherwise shown at the Congress. We’ve gotten a lot of great feedback; we’re just tickled to death.”

Wade agrees, saying he’s already received calls from riders who are making plans to attend next year’s series. He credits the success to a strong group of supportive sponsors.

Beth’s husband, daughter and many of her friends were present for the event, and though the awards honored limited exhibitors, Beth’s memory and spirit were celebrated with every ride.

Image courtesy of APHA and Bar H Photography.

Image courtesy of APHA and Bar H Photography.

Beth Buechler Limited Series Winners:

Limited Open Trail— Zippos Paycheck, ridden by Jeff Burley and owned by Elizabeth Collins 

Limited Non-Pro Trail—Zippos Paycheck, ridden and owned by Elizabeth Collins

Limited Open Hunter Under Saddle—Awesome All Night, ridden by Peggy Knaus and owned by Lynn Wasson

Limited Non-Pro Hunter Under Saddle—Awesome All Night, ridden and owned by Lynn Wasson

Limited Open Western Pleasure—A Girl Named Charlie, ridden by Scott Harralson and owned by John & Clea Bobbitt

Limited Non-Pro Western Pleasure—Heavenly Machine, ridden and owned by Gavin Pope

For more information about this great event, visit APHA.com.


Leave a Reply