2014 AQHA Convention is a Wrap

March 17th, 2014 8:29 AM | No Comments

The 2014 AQHA Executive Committee, Hall of Fame Inductees, Professionals of the Year and more were named at this year’s AQHA Convention.

The American Quarter Horse Association
March 12, 2014

The 2014 AQHA Convention was held March 7-10 at the Hyatt Regency in New Orleans.

The American Quarter Horse Association is an organization that works for its members. Each spring, AQHA holds an annual convention to review member-submitted rule changes, appoint new AQHA directors, induct new members to the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame and present year-end awards. The 2014 AQHA Convention was March 7-10 at the Hyatt Regency in New Orleans.

AQHA Executive Committee

The new AQHA Executive Committee was elected Monday, March 10. This five-person committee is responsible for implementing important decisions made by AQHA members through the board of directors.

AQHA’s new Executive Committee is President Johnny Trotter of Hereford, Texas; First Vice President George Phillips of Sumrall, Mississippi; Second Vice President Dr. Glenn Blodgett of Guthrie, Texas; Member Sandy Arledge of Encinitas, California; and Member Ralph Seekins of Fairbanks, Alaska.

Hall of Fame Inductees

The 2014 American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame induction ceremony was Sunday, March 9.

This year, AQHA inducted nine legends into the Hall of Fame: Leroy Webb, Ken Mumy, A.B. Green, Donald “Curly” Smith, Mr Bar None, Miss T Stuart, Dashingly, Leo San and Mr Conclusion. They join the 243 inductees of the past 32 years.

In addition to the Hall of Fame inductions, Betty Flarida of Springfield, Ohio, was presented the 2013 Merle Wood Humanitarian Award at the Hall of Fame Banquet.

Professionals of the Year

The 2013 Don Burt Professional’s Choice Professional Horseman of the Year, the Professional’s Choice Professional Horsewoman of the Year and Professional’s Choice Most Valuable Professional awards were presented at the awards banquet Saturday, March 8. The awards were presented by AQHA Corporate Partner Professional’s Choice.

Clark Parker of Paradise, Utah, was named the 2013 Don Burt Professional’s Choice Professional Horseman of the Year. The 2013 Professional’s Choice Professional Horsewoman of the Year is Kelley Roberts of Murrieta, California. Rob Meneely of Conyers, Georgia, received the 2013 Professional’s Choice Most Valuable Professional.

2013 AQHA Year-End Winners

More than 110 high-point titles were awarded at the awards banquet Saturday evening. The highest honors for the year were:

Farnam All-Around Amateur – Southwestern Gunman and Whitney Walquist-Vicars of Cleburne, Texas

Markel Insurance All-Around Youth – Zips Bossy Chip and Ellexxah Ireland Maxwell of West Mansfield, Ohio

Farnam World Champion Racing American Quarter Horse – Last To Fire, owned by Jesus Cuevas and Jesus Avila of Fresno, California

Farnam All-Around Junior Horse – A Sudden Illusion, owned by JoAnne Garnett of Lincoln, Nebraska

Farnam All-Around Senior Horse – Romancing The Chics, owned by Joyce F. Tisdall of Castle Rock, Colorado

The 2014 AQHA Convention Awards Banquet and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are available on DVD, and you can purchase your copy today by contacting Linda Calkins at lcalkins@aqha.org or by calling 806-376-4811.

Pictures from each banquet are also available, for more information contact Jennifer Horton at Jennifer@barHphotograpy or by calling 319-240-3520.

Stay tuned to www.aqha.com for further information on rule changes and be sure to visit www.aqha.com/convention for future convention dates and to see coverage from the 2014 event.

AQHA News and information is a service of the American Quarter Horse Association. For more news and information, follow @AQHAnews on Twitter, watch the AQHA Newscast and visit www.aqha.com/news.

Leave a Reply